Website annoyances to frustrations to abandonment

It happens everyday.

Annoyances in websites that lead to frustrations that lead to abandonment that leads to using a competitor’s product or service. Fortunately for Cebu Pacific, Yuga shared the problem because for every person who complains, there are 26 who do not. Unfortunately for Cebu Pacific, they lost a customer because Yuga went to Philippine Airlines. (I wonder where the other 26 customers went.)

Website owners, managers, developers, and designers still don’t get it (or won’t accept the reality). They focus on the sizzle, not the steak. They are more concerned about brands (for whatever their definition is) instead of improving the online experience. They love thinking about Flash, JSP, .NET, and other things customers don’t care about. They spend more time on vision, mission, executive team, partners, and other self-congratulatory materials that were written to please the CEO and not the customers who visit the websites.

It’s everywhere.

Homepage littered with advertisements.
Signup form that asks too many questions.
Flash introduction taking-up the whole screen.
Search function that returns a list of laptops when you tried “hard disk”.
“Object not found” message after you clicked the Pay button.

And many more websites that offer “a highly integrated seamless end-to-end solution to a future problem today.”

5 thoughts on “Website annoyances to frustrations to abandonment

  1. Yes I don’t understand how the commerce side can be so badly implemented on some sites.

    One would think a company would spend at least equal effort on getting this part right.

    Errors during the payment process are not only frustrating, they can leave a potential customer wondering if their credit card details are safe, if their order was actually placed… not a good customer experience.

    I know there are sites that I just won’t use any more, because they do this kind of thing. Then there are sites that I struggle to use because I want to use the company and will battle through the bad design – these companies are LUCKY – they have enough loyalty from me to be able to get away with shoddy design. Even so, loyalty doesn’t last forever in these circumstances, and they really ought to get their act together.

  2. Hello Greg. I was an avid user of eBay in the late 90s but even then, I preferred paying for my wins via Money Transfer. No web-based transactions for me. It’s a personal preference I guess. Some office colleagues buy stuff from Amazon though and they don’t have problems with it so far.

  3. Andy: My team is actually working on payment system right now and to be fair, it is a lot of work to get things right. You have to consider double submissions, timeouts, etc. But, it is not impossible to implement it right.

    Ade: Web teams focus too much technolgoy. They feel if they get their database queries right or if the Flash is singing and dancing, they’ve done a great job. Too bad for us users.

    Watson: I remember when I first tried Amazon, I printed every page from order to confirmation just in case something wrong happens. Now, I have no worries in Amazon. My wife used to be afraid of online billing payment in banks. Even though her officemates were already using, she won’t try it. She told me our bank has that facility only after several months.

    Fred: I haven’t look at any government site yet but I’m sure it’s worth writing a report about.

Leave a Reply

