This week at PUG: UI vs. Documentation

Dear PUG,

We have a complex web-based application and after doing a usability analysis, I recommended major changes in the user interface. But, my boss wants me to defer changes to the UI and instead concentrate on producing a more “user-friendly” user manual. I feel like if the UI is not user-friendly, there is no way I can make the manual user friendly. Besides, if the UI is user-friendly, who needs the manual? Should I just write the manual or insist on changing the UI?

– Miss Don’t want to write a manual


Read The Fantastic Manual

What do you think? Share us your thoughts and join the Philippine Usability Group mailing list.

(I should have posted this last week. I guess I am getting old.)

Leave a Reply

