Out of their minds

So here is the objective: I would like to compile the stories of Filipinos who decided to stay here, started a business, became successful inspite of widespread corruption, numerous threats of coups, kidnappings, scandals, brain drain and other things that scare people away.

I want to share these stories especially to Filipinos and show them that inspite on what is happening around us, it can still be done and these are the proof.

I will not share stories of the Cojuangcos, Lopezes, Tans, nor the Sys. I will look for Filipinos you most likely have never heard of before but are very successful entrepreneurs.

At the same time, I want to learn how business works. Instead of taking classes, why not ask the people who’ve been there and done that. Besides, I don’t have money to enroll on an MBA class and I’m sure it would be difficult for me to cope with deadlines imposed by would-be professors. I have enough deadlines at work already.

Of course, nothing beats experience and doing the actual thing instead of reading it from books, blogs, and interviews. But it is also stupid to go ahead without preparation.

So here’s the plan.

  1. Release an electronic newsletter every month containg interviews from Filipino entrepreneurs and things I learned (if any) that I wanted to share with you.
  2. In the near future, research and get more detailed interviews and release the ebook – “Out of Their Minds: Stories of successful Filipinos in a land filled with corruption, controversies, politics, coups, scandals, brain drain, and other things that will scare you away.” I still need to check if the tagline fits in the cover.

Leave a Reply

